World YWCA Women Leading Change Awards

Changing Lives, Changing Communities

The Women Leading Change Awards will recognise and pay tribute to some of the least recognised actors in the effort to stamp out this global epidemic – the outstanding women and young women who are championing HIV and AIDS in their communities by demonstrating innovative and effective leadership.


WAS invites submissions from educators and organizations to be considered for this important award. In recognition of the special contribution sexuality educators make to the overall field of sexology, this award is made every two years by the World Association for Sexual Health, at its World Congress. The two categories for the award and the criteria for evaluation of submissions are set out below.

Commonwealth Day: ICW is this year's chosen charity!

The International Community of Women living with HIV/AIDS (ICW) is the charity chosen for the Commonwealth Day on 13th March, which this year brings together the fifty-three member countries of the Commonwealth in celebration of their common values. The theme of Commonwealth Day in 2006 is ‘Health and Vitality – The Commonwealth Challenge’. ICW was selected as a global grassroot organisation working in HIV/AIDS.

Celebrating Community Leadership and Action on AIDS -Red Ribbon Award

The Red Ribbon Award is an inaugural award, which will be presented every two years, designed to honor and celebrate outstanding community leadership and action that has helped curtail the spread and impact of HIV/AIDS. This award is a joint effort of the Leadership and Community Programme Committees of the International AIDS Conference, supported by UNDP on behalf of the UNAIDS family. More information

Message of Support from AWEPA to ICW

Article image AWEPA is an association of European Parliamentarians for Africa that works for democratisation and respect for human rights through supporting the functioning of African Parliaments.
Syndicate content